O-State grapplers win Big 12

Staff Writer
Pawhuska Journal-Capital

TULSA (TNS) — Oklahoma State won its sixth consecutive team championship Sunday at the Big 12 Wrestling Tournament at BOK Center. The Cowboys also claimed four individual champions.

Oklahoma finished sixth in the 12-team event. The Sooners advanced three to the NCAA Championships, although none won their individual weights.

OSU totaled 137 standings points, beating runner-up Northern Iowa by 40.5 points.

Nick Piccininni at 125 pounds, Boo Lewallen (149), Chandler Rogers (165) and Derek White (heavyweight) were individual champions for OSU, with Piccininni winning by fall in 1:11 over Zeke Moisey of West Virginia. The other Oklahoma State champs won by decision.

Dean Heil at 141 pounds was going after a fourth Big 12 championship, but he lost to No. 1-seeded Bryce Meredith of Wyoming, 6-5. Heil went into the two-day event as the No. 2 seed.

No. 3-seed Kaid Brock was the Cowboys’ other finalist. He lost to No. 1 Seth Gross of South Dakota State 8-5 at 133 pounds. Heil and Brock still advanced to the NCAA Championships, scheduled March 15-17 in Cleveland.

— The Oklahoman