Cavalcade's champions include double winners

Mike Erwin Journal-Capital
Whitney Mullin, left, and Ryan Carter, right, were finalists for the 4 Y Roundup Club in Cavalcade's Junior/Intermediate Team Roping.

Following are results from the events at the 2016 Cavalcade.

The 70th-annual amateur rodeo event took place Monday through Sunday at the Osage County Fairgrounds’ Ben Son Johnson Arena.

In all, more than 1,500 entries competed for 118 roping/riding/roundup clubs.



Queen Contest — Charity Pulliam of Marland was selected as 2016-17 Cavalcade Queen. The 16-year-old Frontier High School student was sponsored by the Sisco Kids Roundup Club.

First runnerup was Lauren Hadley of 4-Bar Roundup Club and Kodi Smalygo from Skiatook RUC was the second runnerup. The two other finalists from the 19 contestants were Layna Grue of Copan Roping and Riding Club and Drumright RUC’s Tristen Taylor.

Chuck Wagon Race — Larry Morphew and 4-Bar Roundup Club won for a third consecutive year. In Sunday’s final, 4-Bar completed the course in the week’s best time: 62.07 seconds. Puddin’ Frank and his 3 J’s squad placed second, 23 seconds behind the winner.

Pony Express Race — Winning for the second year in a row was 4-Bar’s George Henry, whose two-race time was 207.02 seconds. Faith Wickliffe of Nuyaka Riding Club was second (211.59) and 3 J’s Kendall Lamproe ( 229.04) took third.

Wild Horse Race — Owasso Roundup Club’s entry — comprised of Mikey McCause, Skyler Driggers and Chase Enix — was the first team in two years to successfully complete the race. Three other teams managed to get their horses saddled.


Bareback Bronc Riding — Coby Gorman of the Owasso Wranglers had a 72-point ride Sunday and a 71-point effort earlier in the week. His total edged out Gypsy RUC’s Brad Gower, the leader going into the finals, by two points. George Henry of 4-Bar was four points further back, in third.

Bull Riding — After getting the best score of the week for 80 points on Wednesday, Kalem Grist of OK Wild Bunch held on for one of the two qualified rides in the finals. His 148 total edged runnerup Jesse Palmer (3 J’s) by four points.

Wild Cow Milking — Doug Branch and Travis Barbee of Christ Cross Cowboy Fellowship formed the winning team, with a time of 56.81 seconds. They added a 27.88 in the finals to their Friday night effort and slipped past Sunny Slope’s Buddy Bledsoe and Terry Ehler (67.79) and the Pawhuska High alumni duo of Matt Casebolt and J.C. Woods (72.19).



Intermediate Girls Calf Roping — Abby Myers of Sedan Roundup Club moved from third place to first in the final round and edged second-place Mollie Bassett (OK Wild Bunch 2). Myers time was 18.59 to Bassett’s 20.13. Kailynn Wade of 4-Bar finished third.

Senior Womens Calf Roping — Zadie McElhaney (Winchester Riding Club) had the fastest qualifying time (3.52 seconds) and also was fastest in the finals (3.94). Melissa Ward of Pawhuska High School Rodeo (with a 3.69 and 4.04) was the next fastest, both times. Third went to Boots & Spurs Shelby Carpenter and Summer Routh of Bartlesville RUC was fourth.

Junior Boys Calf Roping — Witt Edwards of Grayhorse RUC recorded a 6-second time in the finals, for a two-round total of 12.74 seconds. That put him 1 1/2 seconds ahead of second-place Riley O’Rourke. Going into the finals, Edwards and O’Rourke were in sixth- and fifth-place, respectively. Mason Appleton of Copan R&R finished third after entering the finals with the best time of all — 3.56 seconds.

Intermediate Boys Calf Roping — Sperry High School junior-to-be Trey Goff (OK Wild Bunch) had a two-head time of 31.83 — more than six seconds faster than runnerup Bryton Edmundson (C Bar 5). Finishing third was Colten Cargill (4-Bar).

Senior Mens Calf Roping — Scott Hampton of C Bar 5 Riding Club wound up winning after being eighth when the Sunday round began. Hampton’s 29.98-second time included a 14.88 in the finals. Early leader Derek Goff of Copan R&R finished second, 2/10ths of a second behind. John Wright (Lazy S Arena) placed third and the Pawhuska Rough Riders’ Randy Gower was fourth.



Junior/Int. Team Roping — Willow Creek’s Cassidy Sissom and Taylor Varner had the only clean run of the finals, a 10.45-second effort that moved them from fourth place to first. Ryan Carter and Whitney Mullin (4 Y RUC) took second. Kane Roberts and Cheyenne Shaver (Lazy O Arena) got third and Sam Lind-Gatlun Thomas (Copan R&R) were fourth.

Senior Team Roping — Chris Conley and Jackson Willaby (Owasso Rough Riders) used an 8.43-second finals run to move up four places with an overall time of 17.97 seconds. A five-second penalty on their last attempt cost early leaders Brad Prater and Tamara Smith (4 Y RUC), who finished second at 21.09. Third- through fifth-place were: Kolby Shepherd/Twister Smith (Added Money RUC), Phil Davis/BudGould (So. Forty Riders) and Jackie Jo Donaldson/Kojack Holloway (Greyhorse).



Junior Barrel Race — Edna RUC’s Addie Weil jumped over Jewel Crawford of 7-H Roundup Club with to win by eight-tenths of a second. Kashdyn Woods of C Bar 5 Riding Club finished third, after starting the final round in 10th.

Intermediate Barrel Race — Kendalyn Stueve of Christ Cross Cowboy Fellowship held off second-place Abby Myers (Sedan RUC) by about 3/10th of a second. Close behind in third was Rylin Rouse of Haywire Cattle Co. and OK Wild Bunch’s Breana Marts placed fourth.

Senior Mens Barrel Race — Kurt Pickering of the Dentonville Rough Riders edged 2013 winner Justin Winget (Sisco Kids Next Generation) by a slim margin (.07 of a second). J.C. Woods (Pawhuska HS Rodeo) came in third.

Senior Womens Barrel Race — Shelby Weaver (Future Stars Riding Club) held off a late bid by Heidi Carter of the Copan Roping and Riding Club, with Ginger West (West Riders) taking third. In fourth place was Cassidy Higgins for Bar F RUC.



Junior Boys Flag Race — Mason Appleton of the Copan Roping and Riding led going into the finals and topped things off with a best time for Sunday. Second-place went to Cutter Weil of Edna RUC, while Braden Wilson (Independence Trail Riders) was third. Greyhorse’s Witt Edwards placed fourth and Pawhuska’s Jett Carr was fifth.

Junior Girls Flag Race — Addie Weil (Edna RUC) won her second championship of the day by picking up her second junior flags title in three years. Bailey Kidd of Kellyville RUC was the runnerup and Jewel Crawford (7-H RUC) took third. Defending champ Mercedz Mills (OK Wild Bunch) came across fourth.



Junior Pole Bending — Capturing the title for the second year in a row was Payton Crook of 3 J’s Riding Club. Sage Christian (Future Stars Riding Club) placed runnerup. Mollie Compton (Rx Arena) finished third and Edna’s Addie Weil was fourth.

Intermediate Pole Bending — Breana Marts (OK Wild Bunch 2) repeated as champ by turning in Sunday’s best run — a blistering 20.921 seconds — which sent her from fourth place into first. The second-place finisher was 3 J’s Kendall Lamproe. Teagan Smith of Sand Springs RUC came in third and Katy Pendergrass (L&K Riding) was fourth.

Senior Pole Bending — To notch her second win of the day, Shelby Weaver of Future Stars Riding Club had the lead entering the finals (21.46) and then recorded Sunday’s best time. Bonnie Spencer (OK Wild Bunch 2) placed second, with West Riders’ Ginger West taking third and defending champ Jeannette Robinson (Skiatook RUC) finishing fourth.