Local hoops Hall of Fame induction set Friday night

Staff Writer
Pawhuska Journal-Capital

Four new members are to be inducted Friday night into the Pawhuska Basketball Hall of Fame.

The HOF Class of 2015 will be comprised of:

— Louis Surber, a key ball-handler for Pawhuska High School’s state-tournament qualifying team of 1947;

— 1962 PHS graduate Jay Hurt, who earned All-State football honors in addition to playing on three legendary Huskie hoops teams, including the schools first state champions in 1961;

— Kent May, a big player on the big-time Huskies state championship team of 1971 (his nickname was “Stretch”); and

— a Lady Huskie from the Class of 2004, Lauren Gould-Garnett, who continued her career at the college level.

The HOF Banquet will begin at 5 p.m. at Calvary Baptist Church, 620 E. 15th. Tickets are $10 and may be purchased at Citizens Bank, American Heritage Bank or in the office at Pawhuska High School.

Later in the evening, this year’s honorees also will be recognized during the PHS games against the Perry Maroons at Oren Terrill Field House.

This will be the 10th consecutive year for the local Hall to conduct induction ceremonies.