Osage County ropers ranked highly in 2014 ACRA events

Staff Writer
Pawhuska Journal-Capital
Osage County ropers ranked highly in 2014 ACRA events

TULSA — As the final hours ticked away before the start of 2015, Osage County ropers were serving notice that they probably will pick up right where they left off last season in the American Cowboys Rodeo Association.

Cody Garnett of Pawhuska was the top winner in a New Year’s Eve Steer Roping at the Tulsa Expo Center, with the bulk of $7,500 in prize money going to Osage County representatives. The event capped off an impressive year for ACRA ropers from the area.

The last roping of 2014 was limited to 20 entries and included the top 10 finishers of the 2014 ACRA season, five “invited” ropers and five more drawn from general entries.

Garnett won the average by compiling a three-head time of 41.3 seconds. He had the third-fastest time of both the second and third rounds. His total was 1 1/2-seconds faster than runner-up Brad Mohon of Claremore.

Matt Garrett of Barnsdall took first in the opening go, with Pawhuska’s Joe O’Rourke getting third. Skiatook’s Ralph Williams and Brad Prater of Wynona placed second and fourth, respectively. O’Rourke was this year’s champion in the Osage Steer Ropers Club, which includes most of the area’s top ropers — including all of those mentioned previously in this article .

Earlier in the month, Dec. 12-14, the Expo Center’s Built-Ford-Tough Arena also served as site for the 2014 American Finals Rodeo. Nearly $80,000 in prize money was paid out at the 38th-annual event, which included the top 15 finishers in nine competitions (bareback, saddle bronc and bull riding, steer wrestling, barrel racing, steer, calf, breakaway, steer and team roping) from the recently-concluded ACRA season.

Garnett finished third in the steer roping average while O’Rourke came in fourth and another Pawhuskan, Kelly Casebolt, took fifth. O’Rourke won the first go, with Prater getting third. Garnett was fourth in the fourth go. Another Osage County cowboy, Sean Prater of Burbank, cleaned up in the saddle bronc riding, winning two of three rounds to take first in the average.

Tyler Milligan of Pawhuska took first in the rodeo’s calf-roping event. The 18-year-old phenom won the third go in 7.8 seconds, the fastest time of the competition. Milligan three-calf average of 26.8 seconds topped the runner-up by four-tenths of a second. As a header, Milligan placed in a round of the team roping.

Milligan had plenty of success during the ACRA regular season. In fact, he claimed the association’s All Around Cowboy title based on total ACRA season earnings. Milligan won numerous calf-roping events over the summer. The home-schooled senior also competed in the National High School Rodeo finals.

The ACRA’s calf roping champion for 2014 was Walt White of Ochelata, while Milligan finished in fifth place overall. Milligan claimed sixth place in the final ACRA Team Roping - Header standings for 2014. Also, Sean Prater was the ACRA’s annual champion for saddle bronc riding.

In the ACRA Steer Roping for the 2014 season, Rod Hartness of Pawhuska placed third, Matt Garrett was fourth, Mannford’s Gannon Quimby (a former OSRC champion) get fifth. Also, Cody Garnett finished sixth, Joe O’Rourke took eighth and Barnsdall’s Tom Smith came in 10th. And, Brad Prather of Skiatook was 11th and Skiatook’s Robert Fudge came in 13th, while Pawhuska’s Shorty Garten took 14th, Nick Carter of Pawhuska was 16th, Brad Prater of Wynona finished 17th and Kelly Casebolt of Pawhuska was 19th.

The 2015 ACRA schedule will get underway Saturday Jan. 17 with the Sperry Rodeo and the Vinita Steer Roping.