Foran elected to City Council

Robert Smith

Challenger Jourdan Foran last week defeated incumbent Ward 2 Councilman Steve Holcombe in a very tight Pawhuska City Council race. Final totals confirmed Friday by the Osage County Election Board exactly matched preliminary totals reported the night of April 2. Foran received 220 votes to Holcombe’s 212.

The April 2 race between Foran and Holcombe was a runoff of a Feb. 12 primary election, in which Holcombe led and Foran ran second. Laban Miles was third.

Results for April 2 voting provided by the Osage County Election Board show Foran received 56 votes at the Calvary Baptist Church precinct to 41 for Holcombe. At the Presbyterian Church, Holcombe received 127 votes and Foran received 122. In the category of absentee and early votes, Holcombe received 44 and Foran received 42.

The Journal-Capital solicited comments from both candidates about their reactions to the results. Both candidates responded.

“The voters have spoken and I congratulate Ms. Foran on a hard-won victory,” Holcombe said. “I want to thank all of my supporters, not least of which my wife, Susie. We will continue to remain interested and invested in the future of Pawhuska.”

“I am grateful for all of the support I received throughout our campaign,” Foran said. “I am ready to listen, learn and work hard on behalf of all Pawhuskans.”

Asked if she had been at all surprised by the closeness of the race, Foran said: “I expected it to be a close race. That’s why I’m especially grateful for every single vote.”

Elsewhere on April 2 in Osage County, Barnsdall voters elected Johnny Curtis Kelley their new mayor. There were five names on the ballot for that office and official totals show Kelley captured 157 of the 252 votes cast for mayor. His closest competitor was J.D. Cole, who received 52 votes.

Barnsdall voters also elected Yvonne M. Clem to the Ward 1 City Council seat. Clem received 150 votes, while Faye Hendricks received 94.

In Wynona, voters were tasked with selecting two trustees from among three candidates who were on the ballot for the two seats. According to official results from the county Election Board, Della Carter received 53 votes, Loretta Little received 34 votes and Jason Stansberry received 27 votes. Carter and Little won the seats.