Inauguration ceremony set for 10 a.m. Saturday

Staff Writer
Pawhuska Journal-Capital

Osage Casino will host the inauguration of newly elected officials in the Elm Room of the Osage Casino Hotel–Ponca City. Officials for the three branches of government will be sworn in at 10 a.m. on Saturday, July 14, with the keynote speaker to be Oklahoma City Mayor and tribal member David Holt. The inauguration event will be streamed live on www.osagetribe.org.

Geoffrey Standing Bear will be sworn in as Principal Chief of the Osage Nation. Others to be sworn in include: Assistant Principal Chief Raymond Red Corn; Supreme Court Chief Justice Meredith Drent; and Associate Justices Elizabeth Lohah Homer and Drew Pierce. The Osage Nation Congress members to be sworn in include: Scott N. BigHorse, Alice Goodfox, Brandy Lemon, Eli Potts, Angela Pratt, and Paula M. Stabler.

“With the event now on Saturday to accommodate our working tribal members, we look forward to having a ceremony and celebration befitting of the Great Osage Nation and our citizens,” said Shannon Edwards, representative of the Congressional Inauguration Planning Committee. “We are excited to welcome tribal member and Oklahoma City Mayor David Holt. All our members and invited guests are welcome.”