Osage County included in burn ban

Staff Writer
Pawhuska Journal-Capital

Lt. Gov. Todd Lamb has extended and expanded a burn ban from 16 counties to include 36 counties in western and central Oklahoma due to extreme and extraordinary fire danger.

The burn ban will remain in effect indefinitely for the following counties: Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Cimarron, Comanche, Cotton, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grady, Grant, Greer, Harmon, Harper, Jackson, Jefferson, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Logan, Major, Noble, Oklahoma, Osage, Pawnee, Roger Mills, Stephens, Texas, Tillman, Washita, Woods and Woodward.

Lamb also signed an executive order easing trucking regulations directly related to fire relief.

Conditions have deteriorated since the burn ban was amended Feb. 23, prompting the expansion. The governor’s burn ban supersedes existing county burn bans. This list is frequently updated by county commissioners and can be viewed anytime on the OFS website at www.forestry.ok.gov/burn-ban-info.

“We have worked hard to prepare for these historically dangerous conditions,” said George Geissler, OFS director.

Unlawful activities under the ban include campfires, bonfires, and setting fire to any forest, grass, woods, wildlands or marshes, as well as igniting fireworks, burning trash or other materials outdoors. LPG and natural gas grills and charcoal-fired cooking outside in a grilling receptacle are permitted but any fire resulting from grilling or use of one of the cookers or stoves is still considered an illegal fire.

For more specific information and details, visit www.forestry.ok.gov/burn-ban-info or call (405) 586-0404.