Pawhuska schools recognize achievements

Mike Erwin |

Classroom achievements for the past academic year were recognized during the 2017 Pawhuska High School Awards Assembly held Monday at Oren Terrill Fieldhouse.

The program was directed by PHS Counselor Olivia Chronister, who was joined by teachers, administrators and other school officials in announcing the student honors. Scholarship presentations of scholarships were made by district personnel, civic leaders and visiting guests from colleges and universities.

Student Council President Jenna Shulanberger and Vice President Sidney Walker led the opening ceremonies for the assembly. Senior Class President Madelyn Priest read the senior citations before providing the event’s closing remarks, which acknowledged the important role parents play in student achievements.

Valedictorian for the PHS class of 2017 is Madelyn Priest. Tristen Tucker is the class’s salutatorian and Heather Conner was designated as honor student of the class.



Academic Letters

Presented for outstanding scholarship each academic year, the letters are awarded to students with a 4.0 grade point average during their freshman and sophomore years, and maintain at least a 3.8 GPA as juniors and seniors. (Honorees were announced by Pawhuska Board of Education President Mike Tolson.)

Fourth-year recipients Heather Conner and Madelyn Priest earned gold bars.

Third-year honorees Tristen Tucker, Sidney Walker and Hannah Laughlin also were given a gold bar.

As second-year winners, Blake Allen and Nathan Richardson received a ‘P’ award featuring the Lamp of Learning.

Certificates of recognition were awarded to first-year recipients: Johna Brazee, Caleb Bruce, Riley Sell, Ashley Henley, Jade Jones, Payton McCarty, Devynn Mathes, Brian Jeffers, Abigail Easley, Bailey Henley, Serena Jeffers, Alyssa Reynolds and Jewel Santini.


OSHS members placed in the top 10 percent of their class academically during the fall and spring semesters.

Seniors: Madelyn Priest, Riley Sell, Tristen Tucker, Heather Conner, Johna Brazee, Caleb Bruce, Laurel Culver, Kallista Dagenais.

Juniors: Payton McCarty, Hannah Laughlin, Devynn Mathes, Sidney Walker.

Sophomores: Blake Allen, Cassidi Hindman, Allison Richardson.

Freshmen: Bailey Henley, Serena Jeffers, Alyssa Reynolds, Jewel Santini, Shelby Bute, Leah Strahm.



The following local seventh- and eighth-grade students were in the top 10 percent academically during the fall and spring semesters: Dalton Hurd, Linaye Jeffers, Channler Moen, Jaeden Kitchel, Dallin Richardson, Jack Long, Amadeaus Reeves, Wyatt Dagenais, Jordan Nelson, Madison Quinton, Tyler Quillen, Cadi McLain, Ryck Quillen, Shelby Laird.


Student Council: Coins were presented to officers: Jenna Shulanberger, president; Sidney Walker, vice president; Madelyn Priest, secretary; Heather Conner, treasurer. Bailey Henley was named most-dedicated member. (Sarah Kendrick was the presenter.)

English: Highest GPAs for English IV - Laurel Culver; English III - Sidney Walker; English IV AP - Tristen Tucker; English III AP - Hannah Laughlin; junior highest GPA - Brian Jeffers; sophomore highest average - Allison Richardson; most improved-Nick Edwards. Language arts - Mason Gilkey.

Mathematics: Algebra I - Bailey Henley, Andrez Ramirez, Golden, Tatyana Curry. Algebra II - Ryann Horn, Ashley Henley. Pre-Calculus - Hannah Laughlin. College Algebra - Nathan Richardson. Geometry - Toni Horn, Kassidi Hindman, Hunter Reed, Allison Richardson. Algebra I - Serena Jeffers, Alyssa Reynolds, Shelby Bute, Lauren Wilson. Eighth-grade math - Arianna Soliano, Jaeden Kitchel, Shelby Laird.

CareerTech: Computer Technology - Alexis Bighorse, John Bighorse, Madeline Burd, Ashley Henley, Devynn Mathes. DeskTop Publishing - Payton Butcher. Video Game Design - Alex Scheuermann. Yearbook - BreeAna Dauber.



Lions Club Mathematics: Algebra I - Serena Jeffers; Geometry - Kalee Kennedy; Algebra II - Ashley Henley; Pre-Calculus - Nathan Richardson.

Masonic Teacher of Today — Carol Kelley. Masonic Students of Today — Madelyn Priest and Caleb Bruce.

City of Pawhuska Honor Students: Honorary Mayor — Madelyn Priest. Honorary Vice Mayor — Tristen Tucker.

National Scholar Athlete Awards — Mary Jo Upchurch and Caleb Bruce.

Kiwanis Sophomore of the Year: Courtney Gullett.


Missouri Southern State University: Excellence Scholarship — Warren Graves. (presenter, Olivia Chronister)

Rogers State University: $1,000 Counselor Scholarship — Caleb Bruce. $1,000 Academic 4-year Scholarship — Colin Lane. (presenter, Bea Vang)

Oklahoma State University: Academic Excellence Scholarship — Madelyn Priest. Academic Opportunity Scholarship - Nathan Richardson. (presenter, Olivia Chronister)

Northwestern Oklahoma State University: $500 Counselor Scholarship — Krista Butler. President’s Academic Scholarship $600 and $100 — Caleb Bruce; $700 Freshman Scholarship — Heather Conner; $600 Freshman Incentive Scholarship — Darienne Frye; $600 Freshman and Ranger Achievement Scholarship — Mary Jo Upchurch. (presenter, Hayley Bates)

Northern Oklahoma College: Freshman Incentive Scholarship — Denver Wahwassuck.

American Heritage Bank $3,000 Scholarship: Jenna Shulanberger. (Danny Ferguson, presenter)

Carl and Virginia Short Memorial $10,000 Scholarship: Heather Conner. (Criss Blackwood, presenter)

Enel Green Power N.A. $2,000 Scholarship: Nathan Richardson. (Michael Cole, presenter)

Randolph Grinstead Memorial Scholarship: Madelyn Priest. (Ken Woodhams, presenter)

Edith Layton Memorial Scholarship: Ben Gray. (Debbie Reed, presenter)

E.S.A. Scholarship: Laurel Culver, Madelyn Priest, Colton Hindman. (Linda Boone, presenter)

Kevin Manering Memorial Scholarship: Colton Hindman, Madelyn Priest. (Olivia Chronister, presenter)

Lions Club George Webb Memorial Scholarship: Johna Brazee, Warren Graves. (Danny Ferguson, presenter)

Mikey Lynn Memorial Scholarship: Tristen Tucker, Sydney Sellers. (Olivia Chronister and Tina Lynn, presenters)

Pawhuska ‘63 $500 Scholarship: Johna Brazee. (Linda Boone, presenter)

PEO Chapter P Scholarship: Madelyn Priest. (Debbie Reed, presenter)

PEO Chapter EM Scholarship: Krista Butler. (Libby Strahan, presenter)

PEO Chapter EM Cottey College Scholarship: Heather Conner. (Debbie Reed, presenter)

Regina Kent Memorial Scholarship: Johna Brazee. (Ken Woodhams, presenter)