PHS honors banquet Monday

Staff Writer
Pawhuska Journal-Capital
Pawhuska Elementary Spelling Bee participants unwind following the recent all-school competition. In March, local winner Racheal Laughlin and runnerup Allyse Kemp will be contestants in the Osage County Spelling Bee, which is to be held at Hominy.

Pawhuska Elementary

The 28th Pawhuska High School Honors Banquet will be held Monday, March 6, at the Elks Lodge. Starting time is 6:30 p.m.

According to project organizers, Saturday is the last day to purchase tickets for the banquet. The tickets cost $8 apiece and are being sold at the PHS office, the School Administration Building, the Pawhuska Chamber of Commerce and American Heritage Bank.

The annual event recognizes students who are ranked in the upper 10 percent of the local freshman, sophomore, junior and senior classes.

This year’s event will have a Western theme — “2017 Branded the Best.” State Sen. Eddie Fields of Wynona is to be the guest speaker and entertainment will be provided by performers from Dancemaker Academy.

Pawhuska High School’s 2017 honor students include seniors Johna Brazee, Caleb Bruce, Heather Conner, Laurel Culver, Kallista Dagenais, Madelyn Priest, Riley Sell and Tristen Tucker.

The PHS junior delegation will be Hannah Laughlin, Devynn Mathes, Payton McCarty and Sidney Walker.

Sophomore members of the student group are Blake Allen, Cassidi Hindman and Allison Richardson, and the freshmen honorees will be Shelby Bute, Bailey Henley, Serena Jeffers, Alyssa Reynolds, Jewel Santini and Leah Strahm.



Racheal Laughlin recently laid claim to the title of Spelling Bee champion at Pawhuska Elementary School, while Allyse Kemp placed second.

Those two top finishers — both of them sixth-graders — will advance to the Osage County Spelling Bee to be held March 8 at the Interlocal Cooperative office in Hominy.

Other participants in the local Spelling Bee were sixth graders Maddux Standingbear, Alexus Wilson, Jakoby Pewewardy and Sydnee Shacklefoot, and fifth graders Shannell Cochrane, Parris Easley, Deacon Hendren, Andrea Diaz, Aoife O’Driscoll, Laurel Moody and Odin Leland.

Additional contestants in the Elementary Bee included fourth graders Mikayla Miller, Cash Reese, Canyon Hindman, Kylea Bills, Kamree Huthcinson and Bryson Jackson, and third graders Harmoni Bigheart, Javien Jones, Madison Moore, Jacob Hunt, Aaron Choate, Jordan Hodge, Josee Lane and Faylee Ferguson.


Patient-room doors at Pawhuska Hospital will be decorated by local students as part of a monthly project that’s being undertaken by Pawhuska Elementary School.

Each month a class will commit to the decorating duties. For example: Mrs. Barnes’ third-graders recently selected March for a St. Patrick’s Day theme.

Pawhuska Hospital will be donating $500 to the school for purchasing supplies that the students can use on their door-decorating projects.

Hospital officials said they are excited about the project’s community-relations potential. The check is to be presented to Pawhuska Elementary Principal Byron Cowan sometime next week.