Pawhuska Education Trust awards annual scholarships

Chris Day

The Pawhuska Educational Trust recently awarded scholarships to students and elected officers.

The combined total of the 76 scholarships awarded for 2017 was $41,400. Heather Conner of Pawhuska received the $2,500 Carl and Virginia Short scholarship. Eighteen students applied for the scholarship.

Other seniors selected for scholarships were:

• Alicia Kennedy

• Jenna Shulanberger

• Teaira Wadsworth

• Kaleb Adams

• Madelyn Priest

• Levi Youngwolfe

• Heather Conner• Chyanne Boe

• Krista Butler

• Chance Hahn

• Johna Brazee

• Warren Graves

• Matthue Rector

• Daneal Parks

• Samantha Lookout

• Colton Hindman

• Laurel Culver

• Todd Justice

• McKenzie Fortney

• Kallista Dagenais

• Nathan Richardson

• Tristen Tucker

• Michael C. Lane

• Denver Wahwassuck

• Sydney Sellers

• Brittney LaBoy

• Mary Jo Upchurch

• Riley Sell

• Eva Harden

• Darienne Frye

The Pawhuska Educational Trust was established more than 50 years ago and has awarded more than $650,000 in scholarships.

The Trust also elected officers. They are Chris Blackwood, president; Gary Strahan, treasurer; Jim Wilson, assistant treasurer; Pam Carpenter, secretary; Julia Wilson, corresponding secretary. Board members are Bob Wilson, Lance Tolson, Mark Short, Strat Tolson and Charlie Wadsworth.