Trust awards scholarships to Pawhuska grads

Robert Smith

The Pawhuska Educational Trust recently marked its 50th anniversary by announcing it has awarded $47,000 in scholarships to 2019 graduates of Pawhuska High School, as well as graduates from previous years who are still furthering their educations.

The scholarship trust was formed a half-century ago, when a dozen Pawhuska civic leaders, among them Dr. Dick Loy and C.G. Arnold, organized it to give financial assistance to Pawhuska students. The total of its scholarships awards is approaching $800,000.

Only the interest from the foundation’s investments can be used for the annual scholarships. The principal cannot be spent. Thus, the foundation is expected to be around forever. Nonetheless, in the increasing the capacity of this community institution for generous giving to Pawhuska’s youth, residents and others with an interest in the growth and well-being of the city are encouraged to give tax-deductible gifts.

Gifts to the Pawhuska Educational Trust should be sent to Blue Sky Bank, in care of Pam Carpenter, at P.O. Box 27, Pawhuska, OK 74056.

Officers elected to serve the trust for the next year are: Chris Blackwood, president; Pam Carpenter, secretary; Gary Strahan, treasurer; Jim Wilson, assistant treasurer; and Julia Wilson, corresponding secretary. Other members include: Lance Tolson, Mark Short, Strat Tolson, Charles Wadsworth and Tim Drummond.

Among the scholarship recipients for 2019 are: Blake Allen, Rachel Boone, Madeline Burd, Zoe Collier, Alyssa Fanning, Nicholas Green, Courttni Gullett, Chad Hahn, Cassidi Hindman, Laurra Horne, Kalee Kennedy, Adelaide Lott, Mercedes McAffrey, Lynnlea McGuire, Gabrielle Moen, Brandon Paradis, Ryan Parks, Price Perrier, Jestin Sloan, Robert Stingley, KeKe Taylor, Aliyah Wahwassuck, William Walls, Jennifer Ware, Fletcher Warmington and Nathanal Williams.