Huskies recognize athletes, boosters

Robert Smith
Beth Reed received the Bill Palmer Award as Volunteer of the Year during the recent Pawhuska High School All Sports Banquet. Courtesy of Sharon Holloway, Pawhuska High School

Pawhuska High School recently held its annual All-Sports Banquet. Athletes honored during the banquet included participants in basketball, cross country, soccer, track and field, baseball, wrestling, golf and softball.

In girls basketball, the outstanding offensive player of the year was Blake Allen; the outstanding defensive player of the year was Kiana Taylor. Blake Allen was also the recipient of the Oren Terrill Award.

In boys basketball, the outstanding offensive player of the year was Evan Frye; the outstanding defensive player of the year was Tre Harper. MVP was Easton Kirk. Leading rebounder was Mason Gilkey.

In cross country, the outstanding male runner was Ryck Quillen.

In girls soccer, Adelaide “Addie” Lott was named most improved. Gabrielle “Gabby” Moen was MVP.

In track and field, female relay athletes recognized were Tatyana Curry, Alyssa Reynolds and Kaiti Moen; female track athlete was Haley Grooms; female field athlete was Shelby Laird; female career track athlete was Kiana Taylor; and female career field athlete was Lynnlea McGuire.

Male track athletes recognized were Mason Gilkey and Evan Frye; male relay athletes were Jack Long and Andrez Ramirez; and male field athletes were Tre Harper and Bryce Drummond.

Head Coach Mark Frye was recognized for dedication to the track and field program

Baseball recognitions included: Cade McNeil as outstanding fielder; Easton Kirk as outstanding offensive player; Randsom Jones as outstanding pitcher; and Ryan Jones as winner of the Hustle Award.

Wrestling recognitions included: Lane Cosby as most improved; Price Perrier and Ryan Parks as winners of the Grinder Award; Price Perrier for Most Falls; Price Perrier for Most Takedowns; Bryce Drummond as winner of the Rick Holt Outstanding Wrestler Award; Price Perrier as winner of the Smoot/Chambers Outstanding Senior Award; Lane Cosby, Ryan Parks, Price Perrier and Bryce Drummond as state qualifiers; and Price Perrier as a state runner-up.

In Golf, Ty Chinn recognized as outstanding golfer. Matthew Miles was the most improved golfer.

In Softball, Tennessee McCartney was named offensive player of the year; Tatyana Curry was defensive player of the year; Kalee Kennedy won the Hustle Award; Shelby Laird was named most improved; and Kiana Taylor was MVP.

Other major awards were as follows: Kiana Taylor and Price Perrier were named the outstanding career female and male athletes; Kiana Taylor received the Huskie Pride Award; and Perrier received the Ormond Beach Award. Ormond “Orm” Beach, for whom Pawhuska High School’s stadium is named, played four seasons of Canadian football, from 1934-1937, for the Sarnia Imperials, and was inducted in 1963 into the Canadian Football Hall of Fame. He is also honored by the University of Kansas, where he attended college.