3 Osage County students selected

Staff Writer
Pawhuska Journal-Capital

Students from several Osage County school districts have been named to a student advisory council chosen to assist the state Superintendent of Public Instruction.

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister has announced that 74 Oklahoma high school students have been named to her 2019 Student Advisory Council, marking the fourth consecutive year the group has been convened to assist Hofmeister and the Oklahoma State Department of Education in matters of policy.

Chance McGill, a junior at Barnsdall High School; Chase Dooling, a junior at Hominy High School; and Kasidee Chouteau, a senior at Wynona, were among the 74 students chosen statewide.

“These are among Oklahoma’s best and brightest high school leaders, and we look forward to learning more about the student perspective on matters of school policy,” Hofmeister said. “Working with these outstanding young people is a highlight of every spring, and their input on topics as diverse as bullying, career readiness and school funding has been instrumental to our state-level decision-making.”

The students, nominated by their district superintendents, hail from across Oklahoma and represent rural, urban and suburban schools of all sizes. Nineteen are returning members who have served on the council in previous years.

The first meeting of Superintendent Hofmeister’s Student Advisory Council is scheduled for Jan. 31, 2019, in Senate Room 535 of the Oklahoma State Capitol.

“We are excited to usher in a new class of our Student Advisory Council,” Hofmeister said. “The commitment to civic engagement among these students is exemplary and ensures that our state’s leadership will be in excellent hands in the years and decades to come.”