Organization awards $40,700 in scholarships

Staff Writer
Pawhuska Journal-Capital

The Pawhuska Educational Trust recently awarded $40,700 in scholarships to graduates of Pawhuska Public Schools who are continuing their educations.

Since its inception, the scholarship fund has given more than $740,000 in scholarships to Pawhuska graduates.

In 1969, Dr. Dick Loy and C.G. Arnold got together with 10 other businessmen in Pawhuska and organized the Foundation, the only purpose of which is to give financial assistance to Pawhuska students.

Only the interest from the Foundation’s investments can be used for the annual scholarships. The principal cannot be spent, and the intent is for the Foundation to be a perpetual asset to the community.

The Carl and Virginia Short Scholarship was awarded this year to Payton Butcher, who was selected from 10 applicants for the honor.

Officers elected to serve the Foundation for the coming year are as follows: President, Chris Blackwood; Secretary, Pam Carpenter; Treasurer, Gary Strahan; Assistant Treasurer, Jim Wilson; Corresponding Secretary, Julia Wilson; and members, Lance Tolson, Mark Short, Strat Tolson and Charles Wadsworth.

Tim Drummond was elected as a new member of the Board.

The Foundation said it will need continued contributions in order to maintain its record for giving scholarships. Contributions are tax-deductible, and may be sent to: Blue Sky Bank, C/O Pam Carpenter, P.O. Box 27, Pawhuska, OK 74056.

The following seniors from the Pawhuska High School Class of 2018 were awarded scholarships: Lauren Garrett, Abbie Gray, Payton Butcher, Isaiah Fortney, Kris Walls, Kyleigh Riebel, Hannah Laughlin, Brittany Standridge, Tonni Horn, Ryann Horn, Devynn Mathes, Zach Redeagle, Braydon Wilson, James Thomas, Reese Collins, Ashley Henley, BreeAna Dauber, Sierra Sellers, Brian Jeffers, Rayven Stone, Sidney Walker, Alissa Sweeden, Leslie Shipp, Aubrie Walker and Austin Severns.