Blackwood elected educational trust leader

Mike ErwinJournal-Capital

The Pawhuska Educational Trust Foundation recently elected Chris Blackwood as its new president, and congratulated Charlie Wadworth for his service as president last year.

Other officers elected to serve include Pam Carpenter, secretary; Gary Strahan, treasurer; Jim Wilson, assistant treasurer; and Julia Wilson, corresponding secretary.

Board members are Charlie Wadsworth, Bob Wilson, Lance Tolson, Mark Short and Strat Tolson.

Trent Hughes was the winner of the Carl and Viginia Short Scholarship, which is the largest scholarship of awarded each year. There were 19 applicants.

During the past 55 years, the Educational Trust Foundation has presented more than $650,000 in college scholarship funding for local students to use in continuing their educations.

Board members of the local trust meet to consider recipients for scholarships funded solely by interest from the Educational Foundation’s investments. Keeping the trust fund intact insures that future Pawhuska students will continue to benefit from the foundation scholarships, in perpetuity.

Foundation beneficiaries from Pawhuska High School’s class of 2016 included Erika Barker, Loryn Bigeagle, Stephanie Clifton, Lynn Conner, Gage Dagenais, Beth Figgeroa Justice, Shelby Haught, Tucker Helmer, Hayden Henley, Genie Herren, Hannah Horn and Karissa Hughes.

Other recent graduates receiving foundation funds were Trent Hughes, Victoria Jech, Shaelyn Jones, Keylee Kirk, Brooke McCracken, Laban Miles, Bradley Moreland, Haley Mouser, Sarah Phillippi, Breanna Redeagle, Kyle Sisco, Baylee Sutherland, Bailey J. Thompson, Robert Tiller, Emily Wahpekeche and Taylor Walker.

PHS students from previous classes also were awarded foundation monies. Those recipients included Kayli Adams, Sage Allen, Justin Barnes, Kortney Barnhart, Logan Bigeagle, Tobin Bighorse, David Bishop, Toni Brown-Rippetoe and Kaci Bute.

Also, Zoe Strawn (Collier), Tyler Culver, Dana Daylight, Kasi Dick, Jade Drummond, Zalin Edwards, Shauna Fadely, Tyler Fadely, Rachel Floyd, Jacee Gullett, Hanna Murdock Henley and Jessica Hutson, Whitney Hutson, Hayden Javellas, William R. Keene, Sara Faith Kennedy and Amanda Laake.

And, Lauren Long, Connor McNeil, Shelby Milleson, Kylar Moody, Kellie Pate, Matthew Priest, Michael Tyler Priest, Emma Redcorn-Dye, Robyn Rulo, Ashton Sellers-Bowman, Karen Standingbear, Hunter Sutherland, Andie Sweeden, Mallory Thompson, Marshall Tolson, Aubrey Wells, Michaela White and Bryce Wilson.