Dem’s pick Brown in sheriff’s race, OC voters advance Roberts, Pasley

Mike ErwinJournal-Capital

Osage County voters narrowed the field of candidates for the Nov. 8 general election ballot with their decisions in the June 28 primary.

Lou Ann Brown was chosen as the Democratic nominee for Osage County sheriff. The longtime undersheriff of retiring Sheriff Ty Koch defeated OCSO Chief Deputy Charlie Cartwright by a 768-vote margin, garnering 62 percent of the approximately 3,200 votes cast.

Brown of Skiatook will face Republican Eddie Virden in November as she seeks to become Osage County’s first female sheriff. Virden, a Pawhuska rancher, previously served as a law enforcement officer in Bartlesville, Washington and Osage counties. Koch, a Democrat from Fairfax, had been sheriff since 1996. He announced in February that he planned to retire at the end of this year.

In the other race for an Osage County office, Kevin Paslay was the Republicans’ pick for District 2 Osage County commissioner. He received 80 percent of the votes in his primary triumph over fellow Skiatook resident Joel Blankenship. Pasley will face Democratic incumbent Scott Hilton in November’s election.

State Rep. Sean Roberts of Hominy will advance to the general election after scoring a Republican victory over Skiatook businessman Chuck Bretanus. Roberts, the District 36 incumbent, is to meet Democrat Cathy Ross in November. Ross formerly served multiple terms as a Pawhuska City Council member.

District 3 U.S. Rep. Frank Lucas moved forward in his attempt for an 11th legislative term (it would be his eighth in District 3). The Republican overcame an intraparty challenge from Desiree Brown of Hennessey, taking 73 percent of the votes. Lucas will have a Democrat opponent, Frankie Robbins of Medford, in the Nov. 8 election.


Osage County Sheriff - Democrat

Undersheriff Lou Ann Brown of Skiatook — 1,998 (62%)

Chief Deputy Charlie Cartwright of Fairfax — 1,230 (38%)

Brown will face former Bartlesville-area lawman Eddie Virden, a Pawhuska Republican, in the Nov. 8 general election.

Osage County Commissioner District 2 - Republican

Kevin Paslay, Skiatook — 814 (80%)

Joel Blankenship, Skiatook — 202 (20%)

Pasley advances to meet Democratic incumbent Scott Hilton in the November general election.

Oklahoma House District 36 - Republican

Incumbent Sean Roberts of Hominy — 1,095 (71%)

Skiatook businessman Chuck Bretanus — 439 (29%)

Roberts is to go against former Pawhuska City Council member Cathy Ross, a Democrat, in November’s general election.

U.S. Representative District 3 - Republican

Desiree Brown — 565 (27%)

Frank D. Lucas — 1,538 (73%)

Lucas, the Republican incumbent, is seeking his 11th legislative term — his eighth from District 3. From 1994 to 2002, he represented Oklahoma’s 6th district. Lucas will have a Democrat opponent, Frankie Robbins of Medford, in the general election.

U.S. Senate - Libertarian

Twenty-eight registered Osage County Libertarian and independent voters went for Robert Murphy over recent gubernatorial candidate Dax Ewbank in their U.S. Senate showdown.

Murphy won by a 20-to-8 margin and will challenge GOP incumbent James Lankford in November.

City of Tulsa Mayor - Nonpartisan

In the City of Tulsa’s non-partisan mayoral election, Osage County’s five northern Tulsa precincts helped boost City Councilman G.T. Bynum past two-term incumbent Dewey Bartlett.

G T Bynum — 907 (75%)

Dewey F. Bartlett Jr. — 216 (18%)

(1,211 total votes among five candidates)

In the overall voting, Bynum garnered more than 33,000 votes (56%) to Bartlett’s 22,500 (38%). Three other candidates combined for 6 percent.