Presidential primary scheduled March 2


Oklahoma voters will have an opportunity to cast ballots in the “Super Tuesday” presidential primary next week.

Twenty-eight Osage County polling sites — including Precinct 107 at Pawhuska’s Presbyterian Church, 101 E. 12th St., and Precinct 108 at Calvary Baptist Church, 620 E. 15th St. in Pawhuska — are to be used for the March 1 voting, said the county’s Election Board Secretary, Andrea Conner. Ballots in the Presidential Preferential Primary Election will be accepted from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. March 2

Conner offered voters tips on how to make their votes count. She urged voters to take their voter identification cards with them to the polls.

“Your voter ID card (issued by the County Election Board) can help precinct officials find your name in the Precinct Registry, and it may help them resolve the problem if you are not listed in the Registry for some reason,” Connor said.

Alternatively, voters can bring an unexpired photo ID card issued by the U.S. government, the state of Oklahoma, or a federally recognized tribal government, she added.

Voters without an ID, or whose names are not found in the Precinct Registry, or voters who disagree with the information shown in the Registry, should always cast a provisional ballot. Provisional ballots are sealed in a special envelope and counted after election day — if the voter’s information can be verified by the County Election Board.

Conner said voters who want to get through the line quickly to vote at mid-morning or mid-afternoon, since those usually are the two slowest periods on election day.

“Anyone who is eligible and in line at the polling place at 7 p.m. on Tuesday will be entitled to vote,” she added.

Following is a list of the Osage County precinct polling places being used in the March 1 elections:

Precinct 101 – Bowring School, 87 CR 3304, Bowring

Precinct 102 – Strikeaxe Non-Profit Water Office, 811 CR 2425, Okesa

Precinct 103 – Shidler Community Building, 269 S Cosden, Shidler

Precinct 105 – McCord Senior Citizens, 115 Mary Road, Ponca City

Precinct 106 – Burbank Town Hall, 105 S First St, Burbank

Precinct 107 – Presbyterian Church, 101 E 12th St, Pawhuska

Precinct 108 – Calvary Baptist Church, 620 E 15th St., Pawhuska

Precinct 109 – Osage Hills School, 225 CR 2706, Bartlesville

Precinct 110 – Barnsdall City Hall/PSO Building, 409 W. Main, Barnsdall

Precinct 111 – Assembly of God, 413 Highland Ave, Wynona

Precinct 112 – Avant Community Center, 306 S Havens, Avant

Precinct 113 – Shidler Community Buidling, 269 S Cosden, Shidler

Precinct 201 – Church of Christ Annex, 1900 W Rogers Blvd, Skiatook

Precinct 202 – Transformation Church-Greenwood, 1519 W Pine, Tulsa

Precinct 203 – First Baptist Church, 825 W Rogers Blvd, Skiatook

Precinct 204 – Osage Oaks Church of God, 2100 W 93rd N St, Sperry

Precinct 205 – Black Dog Fire Station, 495 N 52nd W Ave, Tulsa

Precinct 301 – First Osage Baptist Church, 236 S Main, Fairfax

Precinct 302 – New Hope Christian Fellowship, 161 N 5th St, Fairfax

Precinct 303 – Braden Community Center, 1022 Braden School Rd, Ponca City

Precinct 305 – Prue City Hall, 202 S Main, Prue

Precinct 306 – First Assembly of God, 313 S She She, Hominy

Precinct 307 – First Baptist Church, 202 S Price, Hominy

Precinct 308 – Keystone Hills Baptist Church, 161 New Prue Rd, Sand Springs

Precinct 309 – Rock Fire Dept. Station #1, 7716 Zink Rd, Skiatook

Precinct 310 – Gilcrease Hills Club House, 1919 W Seminole St, Tulsa

Precinct 311 – Gilcrease Hills Club House, 1919 W Seminole St, Tulsa

Precinct 312 – Community Assembly Church, 2247 N State Hwy 97, Sand Springs.

Registered voters in Osage County who want to vote by mail absentee ballot in next Tuesday’s Presidential Preferential Primary Election had until 5 p.m. Wednesday to request one, Conner said today.

“If absentee voters miss Wednesday’s deadline, they aren’t out of luck, however,” Conner said.

Voters who want to cast absentee ballots still can do so in person at the County Election Board office on Thursday, Feb. 25, Friday, Feb. 26 or Saturday, Feb. 27. A two-member, bipartisan Absentee Voting Board will be on duty each day from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Thursday and Friday and 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Saturday to assist absentee voters.

For more information, contact the Osage County Election Board, located at 630 Kihekah Ave., Pawhuska, phone number is (918) 287-3036.