Local steer ropers capture top honors at OSRC event

Mike ErwinJournal-Capital

Pawhuskans Shorty Garten and Cody Garnett were the A division winners in the Osage Steer Roping Club’s Jason Dilbeck Memorial event held Friday and Saturday at Bar K Arena.

Garten won every round en route to topping the average standings on Saturday, while Garnett posted the best average for Friday night’s ropers, OSRC officials said.

Other winners from the event’s Friday ropings were Scott McCornack of Blanchard for B ropers and Pawhuska’s Justin Carr in the C division. On Saturday, the C champion was Josh Johnson of Wynona, with Lenapah’s Brad Starks taking first for that day’s B division.

The Dilbeck Memorial represented the last OSRC competition before Bar K hosts the club finals on Friday and Saturday, Sept. 25-26.

Buckle winners from last month’s Jack Lucas Memorial Roping at Bar K were Rocky Patterson of Pratt, Kan., in the A division, Bobby Brock for the B division and Bartlesville’s Dee Friend in C division.

Bar K Arena is located approximately 12 miles southwest of town.