Pawhuska Educational Trust announces local scholarships

Staff Writer
Pawhuska Journal-Capital

Pawhuska Educational Trust recently awarded more than $52,000 in scholarships to 33 recent graduates and 76 alumni of the local school system.

During the past 55 years, the Educational Trust has presented more than $600,000 in scholarship monies to former Pawhuska students to use for continuing their educations.

Board members of the local trust meet each spring to consider recipients for the scholarships — which are funded solely by the interest from Educational Foundation investments. Keeping the principal from the trust intact for future years insures that Pawhuska students will continue to benefit from foundation scholarship awards in perpetuity.

Chosen as recipient for this year’s Carl and Virginia Short Scholarship was recent Pawhuska High School graduate Brittany Wilson. Eighteen other students were applicants for the honor.

Other senior students awarded Pawhuska Educational Trust scholarships include Ricki Jolyn Allen, Trent Barnett, Kortney Barnhart, Madelyn Blankinship, Tanaya Broughton, Johnny Diaz, Kasi Dick, Mathew Fortney and Macy Hurd.

Also named as new scholarship recipients by the local Foundation were Robert January Jr., Hayden Javellas, Dakota Jester, Christopher Jones, Andrew Kyler, Grayson Logan, BreeAnne Moss, Johnathan Parks, Kellie Pate, Trey Powell, Trey Rector-Redeagle and Tyler Reece.

Additional local recipents of this year’s trust scholarships will be Nicolas Releford, Paige Ryan, Sadie Sellers, Charlie Stabler, Andie Sweeden, Bailey Thompson, Marshall Tolson, Trent Turley, Casie Walker, Elijah Watson and Ashley Youngwolfe.

The Foundation is seeking tax-deductible contributions for future scholarships. Donations should be sent to Citizen’s Bank of Oklahoma in care of Pam Carpenter, P.O. Box 27, Pawhuska, OK 74056.

Elected as officers of the Educational Trust for this coming year are: Charles Wadsworth, president; Pam Carpenter, secretary; Gary Strahan, treasurer; Jim Wilson, assistant treasurer; Julia Wilson, corresponding secretary; and board members Bob Wilson, Lance Tolson, Mark Short and Strat Tolson.

Criss Blackwood was elected as a new member of the board.