Recount confirms Jackson as winner

Mike ErwinJournal-Capital
Recount confirms Jackson as winner

A day-long recount Friday confirmed incumbent Bob Jackson as winner of the Nov. 4 general election for the District One seat on the Osage County Commission.

Jackson, a Democrat from Grainola, was declared the victor by 45 votes — 1,792 to 1,749 — over Republican challenger Randall Jones of Pawhuska.

Election night tallies had shown Jackson with 1,789 votes — which was 43 more than Jones’ total of 1,744. Revised tabulations on Nov. 7 yielded the exact same numbers as were obtained through the tedious recount process.

“I think that says a lot about the accuracy of the county’s voting machines,” said Osage County Election Board Secretary Andrea Conner.

Local election workers began recounting the ballots at 9:16 a.m. Friday in District Judge John Kane’s third-floor courtroom of the Osage County Courthouse. Kane started the process by certifying the boxes filled with individual ballots from each of the District One precincts, as well as all of the absentee votes.

Throughout the day, workers read aloud the ballots from the 12 precincts and tabulated the results. Taking few breaks, the election board panel completed the recount at 4:42 p.m. Involved on the recount process were area precinct workers Dee Chambers, Kathy Scott, Macy Strom and Ginny Sutton. Election Board members included Becky Blackwood and Gary Lanham.

Jackson was initially elected to the commission seat in 2010 following the death of his predecessor, Democrat Clarence Brantley. In that race, Jackson defeated Jones by approximately 700 votes out of more than 4,200 cast.

Jones had been a District One employee for 25 years under Brantley prior to running against Brantley in the 2006 election.