Candidates file for Osage County, state seats

Staff Writer
Pawhuska Journal-Capital
Candidates file for Osage County, state seats

Candidate filing information that appeared in the Journal-Capital last week contained an error involving two Osage County offices.

Osage County Treasurer Sally Hulse was unopposed and will retain the position she has held for the past year. A Democrat from Pawhuska, Hulse gained appointment to the office in May 2013 upon the retirement of longtime Treasurer Joyce Hathcoat. Hulse had served as first deputy to the former treasurer.

Incumbent Osage County Assessor Gail Hedgcoth, a Pawhuska Democrat, is to be challenged by Raymond Leach, a Republican from Hominy, in the Nov. 4 general election.

One area race was omitted from a list of filings for the Oklahoma House of Representatives.

Incumbent District 36 state Rep. Sean Roberts, a Republican from Hominy, will be opposed in the general election by Jim Massey, a Sperry Democrat.

Two seats on the Osage County Board of Commissioners also are to be contested Nov. 4.

In the race for Osage County Commission District No. 1, incumbent Bob Jackson, a Shidler Democrat, will face Randall Jones, a Republican from Pawhuska.

The incumbent commissioner for Osage County District No. 3, Democrat Darren McKinney of Fairfax, drew a challenge from John Blakney, a Skiatook Republican.