Election candidates to begin filing April 9

Staff Writer
Pawhuska Journal-Capital

Statewide election activity begins officially at 8 a.m. Wednesday, April 9, and closes at 5 p.m. Friday, April 11, said Andrea Conner, Secretary of the Osage County Election Board.

Candidates for state offices will file with the Secretary of the State Election Board in Oklahoma City. Candidates for county offices are to file at the Osage County Election Board office, located at 630 Kihekah Ave. in Pawhuska. Conner said persons may obtain filing packets at the County Election Board Office or by visiting the State Election Board website at

Conner said the following Osage County offices are to be filled this year: County Assessor, which is currently held by Gail Hedgecoth Shirley; County Treasurer, currently held by Sally Hulse; District One County Commissioner, which is currently held by Bob Jackson, and District Three County Commissioner, currently held by Darren McKinney.

Contested races will appear on ballots for a primary election to be held June 24 or the general election, which is scheduled for November 4.

More election-related information is available by calling the County Election Board at (918) 287-3036, or by visiting the state website at