Sellers unopposed in school board bid

Sellers unopposed in school board bid

School board president Justin Sellers will be unopposed in his bid for re-election to the Pawhuska Board of Education.

Sellers was the lone local candidate to declare last week during the filing period for 2014 school elections. Consequently, the incumbent will receive a second, five-year term in Office No. 4 on the board of education for the Pawhuska Independent School District. A 1990 Pawhuska graduate, Sellers has served as president of the I-2 school board since 2010.

Declarations of candidacy were filed for public school boards across the county and throughout the state last Monday through Wednesday, Dec. 2-4, followed by a two-day challenge period that concluded Friday, election officials added.

With opposition lacking for many candidates, only one school board race is to be scheduled in Osage County for the Feb. 11 elections, officials said. Janice Hosack and Britton Wehunt will vie for a five-year term in office No. 4 of the Shidler I-11 School Board.

Other candidates who were not challenged for election or re-election to Osage County school board seats included:

— Ginger S. Chinn, the automatic winner of a three-year term to seat No. 1 in the Bowring C-7 School District;

— Dana Burdick, unopposed for a three-year term in office No. 3 on the Osage Hills C-3 Board of Education:

— Carl Kelley, earning an uncontested five-year term in the No. 4 board seat with the Barnsdall I-29 Public Schools;

— Jessica Graham, who drew no opponent in the Hominy I-38 District for five-year term representing office No. 4;

— Jami Robinson, unchallenged for a five-year term in seat No. 4 with the Wynona I-30 School District.

The remainder of last week’s Osage County school board filings (with all of the candidates being unopposed for election to the respective offices) were:

Anderson C-52 — Wendy David, three-year term in office No. 3;

Avant C-35 — Sheilla Hutchcraft, seat No. 2 (three-year term);

McCord C-77 — a three-year term to Jeff Clark for office No. 3 and Charles Blake, two years of an unexpired term in office No. 1;

Prue I-50 — five-year term for seat No. 4 to Sylvia Hendrix;

Woodland I-90 — Berry Harrison, four-year term for office No. 6 and four years in seat No. 7 to John C. Shaw.