Pawhuska Educational Trust awards scholarships

Special to the JC

The Pawhuska Educational Trust met on May 31, to award the annual scholarships to the 2013 graduates of Pawhuska School System and the Pawhuska Alumni who are still furthering their education.

The Board awarded $66,000 in scholarships to a total of 27 Seniors and 57 Alumni who had applied.

The Pawhuska Educational Trust was organized in 1971 and has awarded over $750,000 in scholarships since that time.

The Educational Trust only uses the interest off of the principle each year so that the future of the fund is guaranteed. The Trust is actively seeking donations, which are tax deductible. Any donations should be sent to the Citizens Bank of Oklahoma, Attn: Pam Carpenter, PO Box 27 Pawhuska OK 74056.

Officers elected to serve for the coming year are as follows:

President: Charles Wadsworth

Secretary: Pam Carpenter

Treasures: Gary Strahan

Corresponding Secretary: Julia Wilson

Member: Bob Wilson

Member: Lance Tolson

Member: Mark Short

Member: Strat Tolson

Member: Jim Wilson

The following Senior of the Class of 2013 were awarded Scholarships:

Norris Allred, Arin Anthony, Stormee Avallone, Cole Cottingham, Tawni Dagenais, Apryl Doyal, Thomas Estes, Jacee Gullett, Kevin Hendren, Sarah Hendren, Jeni Hendricks, Trent Hollister, Josephine HorseChief, Whitney Hutson, Erin Long, Tara Malaske, Brianna Mathes, Dallas McCarty, Shelby Milleson, Eddie Oyster, Joe Pratt, Jacob Spicer, Hunter Sutherland, Maloree Thompson, Austin Waddle, Zak Wilson and Miranda Winkler.