McKinney Elected County Commissioner

Staff Writer
Pawhuska Journal-Capital

Democrat Darren McKinney has been elected Osage County Commissioner.

Voters in parts of Osage County went to the polls Tuesday to fill the District 3 commission seat which was vacated late last year by longtime commissioner Jim Clark, who resigned as a result of health problems.

Osage County District 3 voters chose between a pair of nominees — McKinney and John Blakney — seeking to join the three-member board of commissioners.

Unofficial results from the Oklahoma Election Board show McKinney, of Fairfax, received 662 votes compared to 330 votes for Blakney, a Republican from Skiatook.

McKinney will now serve out approximately 20 months that remain from an unexpired four-year term.

In the county primary election earlier this month, Blakney earned the Republican nomination by polling 142 votes. He defeated Alan Ringle, with 93 votes, and Allen Daggs, who received 55.

McKinney gained the Democratic endorsement by garnering 308 votes, edging out Gerry Lay, who received 274. Also in that race were Doug Elliott (62 votes) and Mike Pattison, with 52.

Osage County District 3 covers a wide-ranging area that extends from west Tulsa to near the Pawnee and Kay county lines.

Voters in Hominy and Fairfax helped decide the commissioner race also decided the fate of local issues.

In Hominy, a sales tax issue and a handfull city council elections were on the ballot. Jerry Stumpff narrowly won the Ward 1 election and Tod S. White won the Ward 4 seat. Amber Roberts won the at-large seat on the council. The city tax proposition passed with 195 “Yes” votes to 72 “No” votes.

Fairfax patrons in the Woodland School District voted to pass a $329,000 bond issue for transportation projects by a 247-130 vote margin.