4-H kicks off new year with 8 new leaders

: Jessica JantzenOsage County Extension Educator,4-H & Youth Development

Osage County 4-H kicks off the 2015-16 4-H year with eight new 4-H club leaders.

Club leaders are essential to positive youth development and continuing the 4-H tradition in Osage County, according to a press release submitted by the organization.

4-H leaders are selected from adults interested in the volunteer position. Applicants must complete a detailed application and go through a screening process. The local 4-H said they are thrilled to have some of the best adult leaders working with the youth.

Osage County has a total of nine 4-H clubs across the county. Each club is run by one or more leaders. The number of leaders are determined by the size of the club. Many of our new leaders are a second or third leader. Therefore, the clubs are expanding and more youth are joining Osage County 4-H.

The new leaders are: Kim Cass (Blue & Gold 4-H), Amanda Phillips (Blue & Gold 4-H), John & Susan Mashburn (Woodland 4-H), Beth Mayfield (Barnsdall 4-H), Kirsten Howell (Barnsdall 4-H), Jessica Miller (Barnsdall 4-H), and Kathryn Chambers (Bowring 4-H).

The newest 4-H leaders are busy planning fun, education projects for the upcoming year. Blue and Gold 4-H is planning a special science and agriculture project during every 4-H meeting in 2016. Barnsdall 4-H is organizing a three-part photography lesson for all members. Those are just a few activities that will take place.

Osage County 4-H is open to all Osage County youth ages 9-19. It is free to join. For more information about getting your child involved, contact Jessica Jantzen at: 918-287-4170 or Jessica.jantzen@okstate.edu.