Co-parenting class offered for divorcing parents with children
Osage County Extension is offering its Co-Parenting for Resilience class for divorcing parents with minor children.
Parents who attend the class will gain a better idea of how their children are dealing with the divorce. They also will learn strategies and skills to help them work with their co-parent for the well-being of their children.
“Divorce is life-changing for everyone in the family, including the children, and how the parents handle the divorce can make the experience better or worse for them,” said Donna Robbins, Osage County Family and Consumer Science educator.
The class, based on the most up-to-date research in the marriage and family field, will be taught by Robbins, who is specially trained to work with divorcing couples.
According to Oklahoma House Bill 2249, parents with children 18 or younger are required to attend a co-parenting class that relates to the impact of divorce on children.
Oklahoma State University Cooperative Extension’s Co-Parenting for Resilience has been taught for more than 20 years, meets all the requirements of the new state law and has a long, strong track record of effectiveness.
Developed by a multidisciplinary team of researchers at OSU, the class uses a combination of lecture, discussion, video and interactive activities to help parents figure out the best ways to help their children adjust to the divorce.
Recent class evaluations show more than 90 percent of participants who attended the class reported learning new ways to effectively parent their children during and after the divorce.
The class will be Jan. 4, Feb. 8, March 7 from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. at the Osage County Interlocal Cooperative in Hominy. The address is 207 E. Main, Hominy. The cost to attend is $30.
To register for Co-Parenting for Resilience or for more information about the class, including future class dates, contact the Osage County Extension office at 918-287-4170 and ask for Donna Robbins or go to www.coparenting.okstate.edu. Participants must enroll at least 48 hours prior to the class.