Local student cast in CMT production

Staff Writer
Pawhuska Journal-Capital

Children’s Musical Theatre of Bartlesville will be celebrating their 15th season by bringing the newly released classic musical “Mary Poppins” to life on the Bartlesville Community Center main stage on July 16-19, 2015.

Local Pawhuska student Ava Swan was cast in the production in the Penguin chorus and the Kite flying ensemble.

Auditions for the annual summer production were held in March at Madison Middle School and more than 180 talented local students tried out for roles. Directors had to choose from the selection of promising actors and singers to fill the roles of Mary Poppins, Bert, Bird woman, Admiral Boom, the Banks family and many more. By the time the process had concluded, 82 area students had been selected to fill out the cast list. Cast members come from Bartlesville, Dewey, Copan, Caney Valley, Pawhuska, Cleveland, Collinsville, and represent public, private and homeschooled students from 7-17 years old.

Rehearsals will start in mid-June and continue for a five-week rehearsal period. The young people will learn from the professional artistic staff to hone their skills in acting, dancing, and singing as they rehearse for 5 days a week all day long. They will also be learning to work with other cast members as a team to create a production from the very beginning to the end to share a full-scale high quality production for the community to view in July.

Playing the title role of Mary Poppins is Anna Pennington. Bert, the jack of all trades, will be played by Amos Hopkins. Spencer Hayes will assume the role of the Banks family’s demanding father George Banks. Miriam Trudeau will play the role of the loving and distracted Winifred Banks. The Bird woman who sings the beautiful and haunting “Feed the Birds” will be played by Paige Cleveland. The Banks children will be played by Katherine Lawson as Jane and Gage Swanson as Michael. Katie McCollum will act in two roles as George’s scary nanny-Ms. Andrew, and the mysterious Ms. Corry.

The Banks family household staff includes Robertson Ay played by James Boudreaux; and Kassidy Girard in the role of Mrs. Brill. The Banks children’s toys include Valentine-Eli Robertson, Doll-Trinity Bates, Mr. Punch-Ben Dillsaver, and Teddy Bear-Molly Pennington.

The London Bank where George Banks works will be led by their Bank Chairman Ben Ames. Lane Cabler will play the part of shady businessman-Von Hussler, while Benedict Trudeau will play the part of Northbrook-an honest businessman.

Neighbors Miss Lark will be played by Olivia Orr and Stephen George will serve as military man Admiral Boom. The Parkkeeper will be played by Stone Yang, while Jacob Ainesworth will keep everyone in line as the Policeman, and Carter Robertson will come alive as the statue Neleus.

Featured roles include: Katie Nanna played by Olivia Wilt; Katy Franklin is the humorless bank secretary Miss Smythe; Annie played by Lily McGee and Fannie played by Mae McGee, and Xavier Michael-Young will play as a Messenger. Brooke Marshall will play the statue of Queen Victoria, and Tobin Brewer as Poseidon.

Filling multiple roles as bankers, chimney sweeps, talking shop customers, toys, penguins, parkgoers, and kite flyers is a large ensemble which includes: Jacob Ainesworth, Ben Ames, Isabelle Ames, Nevaeh Ashlock, Kayleigh Ayres, Josiah Bates, Kai Bates, Trinity Bates, Gwen Belyea, Baylee Bluejacket, Jackson Boudreaux, Kate Boudreaux, Asher Brewer, Tobin Brewer, Kessi Cabler, Lane Cabler, Rya Christenson, Paige Cleveland, Julia Colaw, Reagan Colaw, Zachary Cole, Kate Conrad, McKenzie Cummings, Sadie Davidson, Ben Dillsaver, Kandace Duke, Katy Franklin, Stephen George, Sora Gillman, Kamille Girard, Kassidy Girard, Avery Gore, Nevaeh Hadsell, Livia Hartman, Colby Hayes, Grace Hedglen, Ryan Helkenberg, Matthew Johnstone, Chloe Kilpatrick , Katelyn Lauritsen, Grace Lumpkin, Brooke Marshall, Katie McCollum, Lily McGee, Mae McGee, TK Michael-Bread, Xavier Michael-Young, Kaylee Morris, Bella Morrison, Jasmine Odell, Olivia Orr, Brett Pellegrino, Molly Pennington, Carter Robertson, Eli Robertson, Hope Robertson, Samarah Robinson, Brooke Settle, Madison Sieloff, Kate Snowden, Emma Stevens, Alyson Sundberg, Ava Swan, Eli Swanson, Benedict Trudeau, Abigail Veit, Emily Wetzel, Lydia Wilson, Mattie Wilson, Olivia Will, Joyce Yang, Stone Yang, Austin York.

Tickets for “Mary Poppins” are on sale to the public and can be purchased at the Bartlesville Community Center at 300 SE Adams Blvd. or online at www.bartlesvillecommunitycenter.com. The BCC Box office can be reached at 918-336-2787.

Those who wish to learn more about the Children’s Musical Theatre of Bartlesville can go online to www.cmtonstage.com, Friend them on Facebook, or call 918-336-0558.