High school academic awards announced at annual assembly

Mike ErwinJournal-Capital

Accolades for the soon-to-graduate seniors of highlighted Thursday’s annual Pawhuska High School Awards Assembly at Oren Terrill Field House.

PHS Principal Joe Sindelar introduced Class of 2015 Valedictorian Andie Sweeden and Co-Salutatorians Tyler Reece, Ashley Youngwolfe and Dakota Jester to open the academic presentations.

After Board of Education President Justin Sellers awarded academic “P” letters, local recipients of Outstanding Academic Performance Awards were announced. PHS members were then named to the Oklahoma State Honor Society and National Honor Society. (See lists which follow.)

Winners of Student Council Awards were revealed by Sarah Kendrick.

Recognition of Pawhuska eighth-grade students was added to this year’s awards assembly as a result of their classes now being conducted at the high school. A following the budget-related closing of the junior high building. (The cost-cutting closure has also caused local seventh-graders to remain at Pawhuska Elementary for an additional year.)