School board leaders honored

Staff Writer
Pawhuska Journal-Capital

January is School Board Recognition Month and an opportunity for local schools and communities to honor the more than 2,700 elected school board members for untiring dedication to children and schools.

“The foundation of school leadership is ensuring equal learning opportunities for all students,” said Dr. Landon Berry, Superintendent of Pawhuska Schools. “We are proud of our district, and School Board Recognition Month is the time to recognize and celebrate the accomplishments of our elected board members.”

In Pawhuska Public Schools, school board members must develop policies and make tough decisions on complex educational and social issues impacting the entire community. They bear responsibility for an annual budget of $6.8 million, 835 students, 110 employees, and numerous buildings.

“School board members make decisions that affect Oklahoma children and billions in educational expenditures,” nsaid Berry. “They preserve the core of our democracy-public education.”

The men and women serving Pawhuska Public School and their years of service are Board President Justin Sellers, 6 years; Vice President Lori Loftis, 8 years; Clerk Tom Boone, 5 years; Jeff Bute, 3 years; and Christy McNeil, 2 years.