Accompishments cited at FFA awards banquet

Staff Writer
Pawhuska Journal-Capital
Accompishments cited at FFA awards banquet

Achievements of local Future Farmers of America members were recognized Tuesday, May 13, when the annual Pawhuska FFA Banquet held at the Osage County Fairgrounds Ag Building.

Opening ceremony for the banquet program was presented by the chapter officers for 2013-14. Later, the outgoing officers installed a slate of newly-elected officers who conducted the closing ceremony.

In addition to recounting the past year’s FFA activities, Pawhuska High School Ag Director Jared Lemmons announced award winners and named outstanding members.

Livestock exhibitors included Darion Anthony, Justin Barnes, Trenton Barnett, Bradon Berry, Johna Brazee, Kasi Dick, Jayden Higgins, Jacob Lessert, Kody Linde, Corbin Lockman, Connor McNeil and Chris Moody.

Land Judging Team members were Bradon Berry, Kasi Dick, Jacob Lessert, Corbin Lockman, Grayson Logan, Brittney Summers, Baylee Sutherland and Clayton Swan.

The Opening Ceremonies Team was comprised of Corbin Lockman, Chris Moody, Jonathan Moody, Clayton Swan, Baylee Sutherland, Cody Townley and Logan Trammel.

At the recent state convention, Darion Anthony and Justin Barnes received state FFA degrees, while Kasi Dick was a state proficiency finalist in beef production-entrepreneurship. Also, Kylar Moody attended the legislative banquet, and Barnes, Anthony, Trent Barnett and Jayden Higgins served on Courtesy Corps.

Pawhuska FFA officers for 2014-15 includes: Jayden Higgins, president; Chris Moody, vice president; Kasi Dick, secretary; Corbin Lockman, treasurer; Mary Jo Upchurch, reporter, and Bradon Berry, sentinel.

The 63 PHS students listed as FFA members included 14 seniors, 18 juniors, 19 sophomores and 12 freshmen.