OCCA recognizes area ranchers

OCCA recognizes area ranchers

The Osage County Cattlemen’s Association established a Hall of Fame in 2004 to honor contributions of outstanding members. Inductees for 2013 are Jim Jacques and the late John F. Murphy.

Each honoree is recognized with a personalized hand-tooled clock fashioned by Yocham’s Custom Saddlery of Bartlesville.

Jim Jacques was born on the Jacques Brothers Osage County Ranch in 1933. He and his brother Art formed a partnership in 1958 after their father, Art, passed away. That partnership continued for over fifty years. The Jacques Brothers Ranch ran a substantial cow and stocker operation on leased and deeded land northeast of Burbank. Art is now retired, but Jim still maintains some cows on his portion of the ranch.

Jim and his wife, Peggy, have two daughters, Dena (Mrs. Richard) Cornish of Bartlesville and Jan of Shidler; and four grandchildren, Kaitlyn, Jory, Loren and Jacques.

Jim’s older brother, Art, was inducted into the OCCA Hall of Fame in 2009.

Presenting Jim’s award was grandson Jory Jacques.

The late John F. Murphy was born in Denver, Colo. in 1926 and passed away Nov. 15, 2012. He attended school in Scottsbluff, Neb., and Kemper Military Academy in Boonville, Mo. After graduating from Colorado College (Colorado Springs), John moved to Grainola to manage the family ranch. He married Linda Archer in 1958 in Arkansas City, Kan.

John and Linda have four children and eleven grandchildren. Daughter Suzanne (Mrs. Bobby) Miller lives in Pawnee. Daughter Meg (Mrs. Greg) Stangl lives in Okarche. Sons Francis and wife Laurie and Chris and wife Joni live in the Grainola area and are actively operating the ranch.

John was an Eagle Scout, lifetime member of the Elks Lodge, member of the Sigma Chi Fraternity, and proud member of the Osage Tribe.

Ruth Alred was the first inductee into the OCCA Hall of Fame in 2004. She was followed by Bill Barnett in 2005; Frederick Drummond and Fred Alberg in 2006; Doc Pearson and Olin Kliewer in 2007; H.R. (Dick) Surber, Fred A. Drummond and Art Jacques in 2008; Ben Culver, Bill Strom and John Hughes in 2009; Sam Strahm and Jim Swan in 2010; Tom Drummond and Phillip Reed in 2011; Chuck Drummond and Butch Savage in 2012.

Each Hall of Famer is recognized on a wall of honor inside the Osage County Agricultural Building. In addition to a plaque depicting the year of their induction, their individual cattle brands are burned into the wall.