GFWC Heeko Club discusses projects, elects officers

Staff Writer
Pawhuska Journal-Capital

Officers for the 2013-2014 GFWC Heeko Club were installed during the club meeting on May 13, at the home of Mary Hull, with Patty Gambill, Kathy Swan and Judy Powers as co-hostesses.

Nicki Lorenzo, president, called the meeting to order and led the pledge to the flag and the Club Pledge. She thanked the hostesses and the club for working hard during her two terms as president. She also read a short history of the GFWC.

Jenna Hague, co-chairman with Dean Shoemate of the club’s Conservation Committee and the Clean-Up Pawhuska project, which has become the Citizen’s for Pride in Pawhuska project, showed a map of Pawhuska and told how much progress is being achieved. She said the people working on it are “picking a trail” across the city and are filling the clean-up vehicle with loads of trash they have picked up. Everyone can help make Pawhuska cleaner by carrying a small sack and picking up any candy wrappers, foam cups, etc. Also, they are now working to get some “Stop for Pedestrians” signs installed on the streets for safety.

Sherry Williams read the secretary’s reports for the March and April meetings. The treasurer’s report was read by Virginia Craun.

Lorenzo reported that at the GFWC-OK State Convention held May 3-4 in Oklahoma City, the Heeko club received a $25 award for Conservation Partnership, $25 for Art Partnership, and $10 for the three new members the club added. Susan Faatz was announced as a new member. She brought pinwheels for sale to benefit children who have returned from abuse.

Joyce Ward, former GFWC-OK State President, reported on two good speakers, including Mollie Levite Griffiith from Apache, who talked on the book she authored, “Welcome to Whizbang.” She said that Lorenzo, club secretary, worked hard on clearing up the bylaws.

Kathy Swan told of the reconstruction of the Osage County Historical Museum and Patty Gambill asked that members sign up to serve as docents at the museum. Barbara Strahm reported on events to be held at the Constantine Center.

New officers installed for 2013-2014 include Debbie Reed, president; Marilyn Maher, vice president; Sherry Williams, recording secretary; Geraldine Enyart, corresponding secretary; and Berniece Irby, treasurer.

After repeating the Clubwoman’s Collect, the meeting was adjourned and members went to tour the remodeling of the former C. R. Anthony building, conducted by Jerry Loftis. The building has been purchased by Ree Drummond and will contain a deli, office space, and will be used in connection with Drummond’s cooking enterprises.