Deadline to request absentee ballots nears

Less than a week remains for registered voters in Osage County to apply for absentee ballots to be mailed to them for the April 1 Avant School Special Election, County Election Board Secretary Andrea Conner said today.

Applications for absentee ballots must be in the hands of the County Election Board no later than 5 p.m. on Wednesday, March 26, to be processed.

Any registered voter eligible to vote in the election may vote by absentee ballot without stating a reason, Conner said. Absentee voters may apply in person at the County Election Board office or may send applications by mail, fax, or e-mail.

For more information, contact the County Election Board at 630 Kihekah Ave, Pawhuska. The telephone number is 918-287-3036. The County Election Board’s fax number is 918-287-4820.

Sample ballots on display at Osage County Election Board

Sample ballots now are available at the Osage County Election Board office for voters who want to get a preview of what will be at stake in the Avant School Special Election on April 1.

Andrea Conner, Secretary of the Osage County Election Board, said that sample ballots can be viewed at the Election Board office, located at 630 Kihekah Ave. in Pawhuska, during regular office hours, 9 a.m. - 4 p.m.

Sample ballots also will be posted outside every precinct polling place on Tuesday so that voters can review them before casting their votes.

Precincts 109, 110 and 201 closed for Avant School Election

Osage County Election Board Secretary Andrea Conner announced today that the Avant School District has opted to close Precincts 109, 110 and 201 in Osage County for its Avant C03557 Special School Election scheduled on April 1, 2014.

State Law allows a school district to close a precinct if its not entirely within the district’s boundaries and if there are fewer 100 registered voters in that part of the precinct that is located in the district.

Voters who are registered in the Precincts 109, 110 and 201 will receive an application for absentee ballots from the County Election Board.