Special Olympics Oklahoma is searching for an Area Director for Cowboy Country. The Cowboy Country Area is comprised of Payne, Noble, Osage, Pawnee, Lincoln and Logan Counties.

An Area Director recruits, develops and leads a team of volunteers to oversee the Special Olympics Oklahoma Program for all Special Olympics athletes in the Cowboy Country Area. Duties of an area director include:

· Planning, organizing and running area competitions.

· Coordinating fundraising events and developing budgets.

· Recruiting families and volunteers to work area events.

· Publicizing Special Olympics to surrounding counties.

An open meeting will be held at 5:30 p.m. Thursday at the Stillwater Community Center at 5:30 p.m. For those interested in attending, please contact John Seals by calling (918) 481-1234 or via email: john@sook.org.


Statewide election activity begins officially at 8 a.m. April 11 when the official candidate filing period opens, Kelly Chouteau, Secretary of the Osage County Election Board, said.

Candidates for state offices file with the Secretary of the State Election Board in Oklahoma City. Candidates for county offices file with the Secretary of the County Election Board.

Chouteau said that the following county offices will be filled this year:

County Assessor

County Treasurer

County Commissioner District #1

County Commissioner District #3

For more election-related information, call the County Election Board at (918) 287-3036 or email OsageCounty@elections.ok.gov, visit www.elections.ok.gov or visit our website at www.osage.okcounties.org.





Osage County Conservation District is now accepting applications for the Cost Share Assistance Program. The practices include Brush Management, Serecia Lespedeza Spraying and or Mechanical Brush Removal. Applications are being taken now through April 27. You may obtain your application at 1000 West Main, Suite 102, Pawhuska, OK. For more information call (918) 287-3570 ext. 3. (Limited funds available)


Oklahomans who want to change their party affiliation before the primary or runoff primary elections later this year must do so no later than March 31, according to Kelly Chouteau, secretary of the Osage County Election Board.

Changes of political affiliation are prohibited by law during the period beginning April 1 and continuing through Aug. 31 in even-numbered years, Chouteau said.

Each political party can nominate one candidate per office for the November general election. If two or more candidates from the same party file for one office, the party nominee is selected at either the Primary or Runoff Primary Election.

Only voters registered in a political party can vote to select that party’s nominees, unless the party gives Independent voters permission to vote in its primaries. The Democratic Party has given Independent voters permission to vote in its primaries and runoff primaries in 2018. Oklahoma has three recognized political parties in 2018: Democrat, Libertarian and Republican.

All registered voters, regardless of political affiliation, can vote for any candidate at the November General Election and for state or local questions at any election.

Applications to register to vote or to change political affiliation are available at the Osage County Election Board office, 630 Kihekah Ave, Pawhuska, OK; post offices; public libraries; state offices providing public assistance; and at most political party and candidate campaign offices. If you have any questions you should contact the County Election Board office at (918) 287-3036 or email OsageCounty@elections.ok.gov.


Come join the learning and fun at Story Time Class!

Spring Story Times are happening at Pawhuska Public Library on Wednesdays at 10:30 a.m. March 7-April 11. Story Time classes will focus on stories for three and four year olds and will be thirty minutes in length. Children two and a half years through five years, their families, and caregivers are invited.


An annual school runoff election will be held for Board of Education Office No. 3 in Pawhuska I-2 School District on April 3. State law requires the runoff election if no candidate in the regular annual school election receives more than 50 percent of the total votes cast.

Andrea Conner, Secretary of the Osage County Election Board, said that Board of Education candidates Danny Ferguson and Scott D. Laird received the highest number of votes in the Feb. 13, election and therefore will meet in the runoff election on April 3.

Danny Ferguson received 373 votes and Scott D. Laird received 335 votes in the Annual School Election, while Newton Cass received 56 votes, Jennifer R. Gray received 32 votes and Patrick Luey received 8 votes. A total of 804 votes were cast in the election.

Voters who are registered and reside at an address within the geographical boundaries of the Pawhuska School District are eligible to vote in the runoff election on April 3.

For more election related information, contact the Osage County Election Board at (918) 287-3036, e-mail at OsageCounty@elections.ok.gov, visit www.elections.ok.gov or our website at www.osage.okcounties.org.