PAWHUSKA — Dr. Ron Shaw has accepted the position of chief executive officer/chief medical officer for the Osage Nation. He will assumed the new position Monday. Shaw officially resigned from the Osage Nation Congress on Dec. 31.

“It is time for me to transition to another role in providing for the health of our people,” said Shaw.

His duties will include directing the Wah-Zha-Zhi Health Center, the primary residential treatment program, the diabetes program, and the TASC program. The Osage Nation Health Authority Board has oversight responsibility for the Clinic and these programs and Shaw will be reporting directly to the Board.

Principal Chief Geoffrey Standing Bear said, “The Osage Nation is also announcing a new health center expansion. The existing clinic has 12,500 square feet and is a building that has outgrown its use. The new health center will be between 30,000 to 40,000 square feet. Dr. Shaw is the perfect person to lead us into this next phase of our growth.”

Shaw, Osage from Grayhorse, has 35 years of medical experience and graduated from the University of Washington School of Medicine and is Board Certified in Internal and Addiction Medicine. He is the former medical director of the Citizen Potawatomi Nation Health Services and is president of the national Association of American Indian Physicians. Shaw was elected to the Osage Nation Congress in 2014. He served as committee chairman of the Appropriations Committee and the Health Committee.

Shaw said, “The time is now for me to make this transition to another level of service to the Osage people and this change in leadership of our health system cannot wait.”


Osage Nation Health Authority Board

The Osage Nation Health Authority was enacted by the Osage Nation Congress through Bill Number ONCA 11-116 on Sept. 30, 2011, and approved by Principal Chief John D. Red Eagle on Oct. 5, 2011. It is the governing board responsible for consolidating and implementing the organizational structure of the Osage Nation Health & Wellness Division.

ONHAB consists of five members who are appointed by the principal chief with the advice and consent of the Osage Nation Congress. The ONHAB membership must include at least three enrolled Osage tribal members. All board members serve a term of three years.