Seven Pawhuska baseball players have made the roster for the Bartlesville American Legion program.

Two Pawhuska standouts — Caleb Bruce and Payton McCarty — made the Doenges Ford Indians (19-under roster), while five — Ryan Jones, Hunter Reed, Nick Edwards, Randsom Jones and Corbin McCarty — joined the United Linen Braves (17-and-under).

Barnsdall placed a player on Indians and one on the Braves. James Cole will play for the Indians, and Joseph Cole is on the Brave’s roster.

The coaches will now look to put together a winning production when the curtain rises on the summer season.

Thirty-one players — representing 14 different high schools, a returning college freshman and two home school students — populate the rosters for the Indians and Braves.

“I feel pretty good about it,” veteran Bartlesville American Legion manager/Indian head coach Anthoney Towers said about the makeup of his team. “We’ve got some returners from last year. We’re definitely looking forward to the season.”

But, this year’s players will have to work hard to build on the foundation set by last year’s Indians, Towers said.

“The guys who didn’t come back, who were too old … left some big shoes to fill,” Towers said. “I think we’ve put together a pretty good team that can fill those shoes — or make them bigger.”

Following is a list of the Indian players, by school:

College freshman: Corey Murphy.

Bartlesville High: Edward Burke, Zach Snow, John Cone, Lukas Rietfors, Grant Yardley and Brennan Longacre.

Pawhuska: Caleb Bruce and Payton McCarty.

Barnsdall: James Cole.

Homeschool: Hudson Shaffer.

Chelsea: Isaiah Meissner.

Hominy: Colt Wilson.

Welch: Nolan Schaper.

Verdigris: Braden Beasley.

Claremore: Dustin Weiesnbach.

Adair: Matthew Skelton.


Pat McCarty returns as the head Braves’ coach.

The athletes with whom he and his staff will go to war include:

Pawhuska: Ryan Jones, Hunter Reed, Nick Edwards, Randsom Jones and Corbin McCarty.

Dewey: Corbin Buford and Kyler Hancock.

Bartlesville: Seth Rogers.

Wesleyan Christian: Jacob Martz

Caney Valley: Chase Brim.

Barnsdall: Joseph Cole.

Oklahoma Union: Britten Epperson.

Homeschool: Scott Shaffer.

Sperry: Levi Juby.